Why I Don’t Go to Church*

D.L. Mayfield

*Ha! I totally got you! That, my friends, is called clickbait. Of course I go to church. I just am not very good at it.

image from here. image from here.

//

Yesterday I did not go to church. I did not feel well at all, and usually we come to the ends of our week ragged both with the good things and the incurably mundane. I read a Walter Brueggemann sermon instead (suggested by a dear friend) and cried my eyes out. I watched a video of a prophetic demonstration, and cried some more. I listened to a podcast while I cleaned my kitchen and–you guessed it–the tears came again.

A few times a month we go to a little Mennonite church in our neighborhood. We started going there because we could walk to it when the weather is nice. Before we started attending, a year and a half ago, we…

View original post 703 more words

Leave a Reply

